Prior to the commencement of the activity, the MGB Central Office conducted a Workshop on Standardization of Procedures for Geologic Quadrangle Mapping in Metro Manila and vicinities from March 7 to 11, 2016. Joy Christine Asis, Supervising Geologist, joined the MGB-10 team in the workshop. The MGB-10 team (Bondad, Gatinao, Eludo) immediately left for their assignment in Region 3 after the workshop.

The first phase of the Quadrangle Mapping activity included the updating of the 1:50,000 scale geologic map of the San Jose Quadrangle in the provinces of Nueva Ecija in Region 3 and Pangasinan in Region 1, from March 11 to 21, 2016. Geologic mapping included the cities/municipalities of Talugtog, Lupao, Llanera, San Jose, and Muñoz in the province of Nueva Ecija and the municipality of Umingan in the province of Pangasinan.

The second phase of the activity included the 1:50,000 scale geological mapping of Diotorin Point Quadrangle, in the province of Aurora in Region 3 from March 28 to April 24, 2016. Diotorin Point Quadrangle Map covers about one-fourth of mountainous terrestrial portion of the Northern Sierra Madre and the rest towards the east is a waterbody, specifically, the Philippine Sea. The quadrangle is situated within the Municipality of San Luis, next and south of Baler, in the Province of Aurora. The covered barangays, i.e. Dibut, Dibayabay, Dikapinisan and Dimanayat, are located in the coastal part of San Luis that are conveniently accessible through smaller mostly single-engine pump boats or a 5- to 6-hour hike from Brgy. Real.